Bringing the Colors of the Philippine EcoGuides to the 5th National Tour Guides Convention

Philippine EcoGuides Association

It was great seeing tour guides and specialist guides of the national federation (TGFed) wear their other hat and take the time to bear the PEGA banner at the 5th National Tour Guides Convention in CDO.

October 2010 was monumental for ecoguiding in the country. The nature guide was elevated to the status of an ecoguide. There are certain aspects that were added to define the sustainable approach to balancing tourism and nature. A small group of reps from the different regions in the country trained at the International School of Sustainable Tourism, under former tourism secretary Dr. Mina Gabor, PATA officer and owner of the awarded Frangipani eco resort in Malaysia, Anthony Wong, the Department of Tourism accreditation and standards division, seasoned Malaysian ecoguides and several local experts in the field of environment protection and conservation.

PEGA members, 2010

Bringing together the different islands toward an advocacy, the first ecoguides formed the Philippine EcoGuides Association or PEGA. The aim is to fuse best practice in mainstream tourism with concepts of responsible travel and environment conservation and strike a chord within the industry.


If you are in need of assistance from an ecoguide, there is one or two ecoguides around every region in the country. Contact a DoT Regional Office or PEGA President Philip Bartilet (at +63-908-896-8826) for inquiries.

The PEGA Directory:

Region I (Ilocos Region):  Peter Aclopen, Tina Tan
Cordillera Administrative Region Ruel Bimuyag, Eddie Dapliyan
Region 3 (Central Luzon):  Diogenes Simbol, Erwin Valenzuela
Region 4 (MIMAROPA):  Ponciano Sumayod Jr.
Region 5 (Bicol Region):  Philip Bartilet, Christopher Alim, Eugene Bañares
Region 6 (Western Visayas):  Bertito Galleza, Grema Nene
Region 7 (Central Visayas):  Glenn Arsenio Oceña, Antonio Mario Wenceslao
Region 8 (Eastern Visayas): Jesus Manuel Horca II, Eires Mate
Region 9 (Zanboanga Peninsula): Ma. Perfecta Cosadio, Manuel Paster Jr.
Region 10 (Morthern Mindanao):  Ma. Reina Bontuyan, Chisum Christopher Factura
Region 11 (Davao Region):  Paul Calizo, Jonathan Estrella
Region 12 (SOCCSKSARGEN):  Edgar Aquiatan, Jerson Ungkal

© Blauearth™ All Rights Reserved 2009-2014

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s